Carbon Copy

Carbon is the latest app from the fiendish geniuses at ClockworkMod. Billing itself as the missing app sync and backup solution for Android, it lives up to expectations. So much so, I took the plunge and stumped up for the premium edition. This was mainly so I could restore a backup sent to my Google Drive, which you can only restore if you upgrade. A bit of a sneaky trick but nonetheless, it worked. You can also backup to Dropbox, Box or USB etc.

Anyway, I digress. I’m now free of the contraints of GoBackup and the 300MB+ files that used to generate and I can instead sync apps at will across my two main devices, the Nexus 7 and the Xperia S. Indeed I can sync to such an extent that I can save my progress on Angry Birds Star Wars (ahem) on my Nexus 7, backup the data then restore it to my Xperia S…and pick up where I left off!

If that’s not worth £3.17, I don’t know what is. Plus, it gives a major use for the 5GB of space on my Google Drive that was previously sitting unused.

Leave a Reply

